Public Holidays and School Terms 2020

2020 Public Holidays

1 January 2020 (Wednesday) – New Year’s Day

21 March 2020 (Saturday) – Human Rights Day

10 April 2020 (Friday) – Good Friday

13 April 2020 (Monday) – Family Day

27 April 2020 (Monday) – Freedom Day

1 May 2020 (Friday) – Workers’ Day

16 June 2020 (Tuesday) – Youth Day

10 August 2020 (Monday) – For Women’s Day on Sunday, 9 August

24 September 2020 (Thursday) – Heritage Day

16 December 2020 (Wednesday) – Day of Reconciliation

25 December 2020 (Friday) – Christmas Day

26 December 2020 (Saturday) – Day of Goodwill

2020 School Terms (all provinces)

First Term
Opens 13 January 2020 (for Educators) and 15 January 2020 (for Learners). Closes 20 March 2020.

Second Term
Opens 31 March 2020 / Closes 12 June 2020.

Third Term
Opens 7 July 2020 / Closes 18 September 2020.

Fourth Term
Opens 29 September 2020. Closes 2 December 2020 (for Learners) and 4 December 2020 (for Educators)

Source: Western Cape Government