Red Bull King of the Air 2019

Red Bull King of the Air 2019 is just around the corner. This renowned kiteboarding competition will return to Kite Beach, Cape Town for the second time and will have a window period of two weeks in late January and early February 2019.

Fans are encouraged to keep an eye on the Red Bull King of the Air 2019 website to stay up to date on the final competition days and get ready for some of the most epic airs!

Confirmed for the 2019 event are Kevin Langeree, Liam Whaley and Lewis Crathern along with past champions Jesse Richman, Aaron Hadlow and 2017’s winner Nick Jacobsen who missed out on a chance to defend his title due to injury.  

Amongst some of the familiar faces like Ruben Lenten, Jerrie Van De Kop and South Africans Josh Emanuel and Ross Dillon Player in the mix, there are also a couple of new names to join the field. GKA Kiteboarding ‘Air Games’ World Champion, Carlos Mario will make his debut at the event. 

Riders will have to master the elements in an attempt to rule the skies – leaving a wake in the atmosphere with the ultimate goal of being crowned King of the Air 2019. 

Image: Ydwer van der Heide / Red Bull Content Pool

The 18 confirmed participants, in alphabetical order are:

Aaron Hadlow (UK) (2015, 2016 winner)

Aurelien Petreau (France)

Carlos Mario (Brazil)

Gijs Wassenaar (Netherlands)

Jerrie Van De Kop (Netherlands)

Jesse Richman (USA) (2013 winner)

Joshua Emanuel (South Africa)

Kevin Langeree (Netherlands) (2014, 2018 winner)

Lasse Walker (Netherlands)

Lewis Crathern (UK)

Liam Whaley (Spain)

Marc Jacobs (New Zealand)

Nick Jacobsen (Denmark) (2017 winner)

Posito Martinez (Dominican Republic)

Ross Dillon Player (South Africa)

Ruben Lenten (Netherlands)

Sam Light (UK)

Steven Akkersdijk (Netherlands)